Frequent change of smartphones is explained by modesty

In The Journal of Marketing Research published a curious work in which American psychologists came to the conclusion that after entering the market of new models, consumers tend to unconsciously get rid of old models in order to increase their importance in the eyes of society.

It's not a secret for anyone that the real life cycle of smartphones exceeds one year. However, this circumstance does not prevent smartphone manufacturers from releasing a new generation of gadgets annually.

Moreover, now there is a practice in which the updating of the line takes place after half a year.

And the practice of the annual release of new models adheres to Apple with its iPhone hit. In the US it is the most selling model and it is against it that scientists and marketers have tried to establish the motives of people to change smartphones every year.

The fate of old, but working devices is just as interesting. Past polls have shown that consumers are not skolnny refuse to use existing equipment only because of the announcement of a new generation. Researchers at the University of Michigan decided to clarify the situation. They studied the dynamics of reports about the loss of smartphones, which showed that before the presentation and after it the number of such messages decreased.

So, a few months after the release of the iPhone 5 in 2012, the number of such ads grew and peaked in the summer of 2013. However, the indicator soon fell: in September 2013, the company introduced the iPhone 5S smartphone to the public.

A similar situation was with the release of the 6 generation iPhone. The authors of the study concluded that consumers understand the lack of the need to purchase a new generation of gadget, but at the same time the unconscious seek to get the novelty discreetly getting rid of the old technology. So it is possible to grow into the eye of others, while justifying the need for updating the technique with objective grounds.

How often do you change smartphones?

You will also be interested

label

leave a comment

Your e-mail will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Частая смена смартфонов объяснена стыдливостью

В The Journal of Marketing Research опубликована любопытная работа, в которой американские психологи пришли к выводу о том, что после выхода на рынок новых моделей потребители склонны бессознательное избавляться от старых моделей ради повышения своей значимости в глазах социума.

Ни для кого не секрет, что реальный жизненный цикл смартфонов превышает один год. Однако, данное обстоятельство не мешает производителям смартфонов выпускать новое поколение гаджетов ежегодно.

Более того, в настоящее время появилась практика, при которой обновление линейки происходит уже через пол года.

Практики ежегодного выпуска новых моделей придерживается и Apple со своим хитом iPhone. В США это наиболее продавая модель и именно в отношении нее ученые и маркетологи попытались установить мотивы людей ежегодно менять смартфоны.

Так же интересна судьба старых, но работающих устройств. Прошлые опросы показали, что потребители не сколнны отказывать от имеющейся техники только по причине анонса нового поколения. Исследователи Мичиганского университета решили прояснить ситуацию. Ими была изучена динамика сообщений о потере смартфонов, которое показало, что перед презентацией и после нее количество таких сообщений снижалось.

Так, спустя несколько месяцев после выхода iPhone 5 в 2012 году количество таких объявлений росло и достигло пика летом 2013 года. Однако вскоре показатель упал: в сентябре 2013 года компания представила публике смартфон iPhone 5S.

Аналогичная ситуация была и при выходе 6 поколения iPhone. Авторы исследования пришли к выводу, что потребители понимают отсутствие необходимости приобретения нового поколения гаджета, но при этом бессознательное стремятся заполучить новинку незаметно избавляясь от старой техники. А значит можно вырасти в глаз окружающих, при этом оправдывая необходимость обновления техники объективными основаниями.

А как часто вы меняете смартфоны?

Тебе также будет интересно

label
Комментарии для сайта Cackle